800 S Taft Ave Loveland, CO 80537 970.613.5074
Donate Today

Educator of the Year Awards

TEF continues to honor excellence in education with the 10th annual Educator of the Year awards for Thompson School District. Nominations for the 2018 awards have closed. 

  • Elementary Teacher of the Year (early childhood - 5th grade) 

  • Secondary Teacher of the Year (6th grade - 12th grade)

  • Principal of the Year

  • TSD Staff of the Year (this category is for all employees that are not classroom teachers or principals). There could be more than one winner in this category.

All TSD Educators and  Educator of the Year nominees will be honored at Embassy Suites Loveland on Friday, March 2, 2018, during TEF's annual Educator Appreciation Breakfast

Educator of the Year sponsor King Buick GMC feels the best way to give back to the community is through education support: building strong programs that will produce a highly trained workforce that can increase innovation and energy for American manufacturing. To honor Thompson School District educators, King Buick GMC will provide a 60-day lease on a new automobile to each of the category winners and a 24-month lease to the 2018 TEF Educator of the Year.

Celebrate the 2018 Educators of the Year:

TSD Staff Member of the Year
Diana Ritchard, Gifted and Talented Teacher at Big Thompson Elementary School

TSD Staff Member of the Year
Raechelle Salas, ILC Teacher at Cottonwood Plains Elementary School

Elementary Teacher of the Year
Nita Starr, 4th Grade Teacher, Ivy Stockwell Elementary School

Secondary Teacher of the Year
Carin Barrett, Social Studies Teacher, Berthoud High School

Principal of the Year
Dr. Jason Germain, Ferguson High School

Thompson Education Foundation Educator of the Year
Sabrina Opila, 5th Grade Teacher, Monroe Elementary School